[Review] Hermit crabs. In space! (among other things)

wpid-Screenshot_2014-02-19-20-01-39.png

Title: Never Underestimate a Hermit Crab
Author: Daniel Sean Kaye
Source: Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review
Published: 18 march 2014
Tl;dr:
Hermit crabs make for pretty nice illustrations, but for slightly overworded sentences.

Never Underestimate a Hermit Crab

This is a book about a hermit crab, which, apparently, you should never underestimate. They have elaborate, intricate lives, as you’ll know when you’ve read/looked at the book. I absolutely loved the illustrations. I like the watercolour style, and they were mostly spot-on and quite funny.
I was less happy with the text that came with the pictures. There were just… too many words, and often the sentences seem not polished enough. For example on the second page of text “Now you might think that hermit crabs just sit in their shells, ignorig the world, not doing much of anything”. In a children’s book like this, I would have preferred something with
 way less words.

Another thing I liked was the last page, were the author gave some advice on how to take care of your hermit crab pet. Although there could also be some improvement here as well. He mentions you should check other sources too and some specific recomendations would’ve made this much more useful. In the end, I don’t think I would get this book for the (parents of) young people in my life. The writing style is really not my cup of tea.

wpid-Screenshot_2014-02-19-20-02-05.png

Maybe I would get a print for on the wall though, because the hermit crab is a very picture-genic animal. Something that I would’ve never estimated.
One Comment

Leave a Reply

