[Review] Mwahahahaha! Mad scientists in an anthology.

http://wifflegif.com/gifs/6452-mad-scientist-boris-karloff-gif

Title: The Mad Scientist Guide to World Domination: Original Short Fiction for the Modern Evil Genius
Source: paperback, gifted through an exchange from redditgifts
Tl;dr: Nice theme (yay for the villain!), but not that much a fan of the execution (because of my general short-story-dislike).

The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination: Original Short Fiction for the Modern Evil Genius

 

I like bad guys. I like science. I like science fiction. There was so much for me to like about this book, but it still disappointed me, sadly enough. This is also the main reason I took so long to finish it. I got this book in july last year. It went with me on at least one holiday, and multiple weekends at my partners place, but only since I set myself to decrease the ampount of books I’m currently reading, did I manage to finish it.

I liked some of the stories, particularly “The space between”: it was the longest story of the bunch (almost 100 pages), had a few storylines and played in medieval times (a period that I like to read about). I also enjoyed the stories about the people behind the evil genius (the coach, the publicist, the personal assistent), because it was a more original approach. I liked the links to well known stories like Frankenstein and Superman, because I enjoy feeling “in the know”

However, many of the stories focused on superhero-like themes, and superhero-stories don’t work that well in prose writing, in my opinion. Some of the stories would’ve been better as comics/graphic novels or as animations. The tales were sometimes a bit too flat and shallow to work in this chosen format.

Lastly, I don’t like short stories in general, especially not in anthologies like this: every new story has a new author, a new style, and takes some time getting into. Which is probably why I liked the longest story best.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

