Bout of books is here again!

Bout of Books

So, as I’ve mentioned before, May is proving to be an insanely busy month for me. However, I really like the Bout of Books-weeklong-reading-marathon, so I’ve decided to participate anyway! With goals related to when I read, and not how much.

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

When I’ll read:

– Audiobooks when cycling, on the bus, or walking.
– Studying on my morning commute (which might not always be reading, but will be so partially)
– Reading for my own enjoyment in the afternoon commute
– During dinner (when by myself)

I’ll paint my new appartment next weekend, and I’m going to try to do that while listening to an audiobook as well (and reading on breaks), but that’s not set in stone, especially since I might have people to help me. I also guess I have one or two evenings (almost) without plans, and friday morning as well, which I would like to dedicate to reading, but I might have to use for a volunteer project.

What I’ll read:

Definately the new Robin Hobb, Fool’s Assasin. I got it from the publisher and was waiting for “the perfect moment” to start reading, but moments are never going to be perfect. I’ll probably also read The Hatmaker’s Heart, which I also got through netgalley. If I notice myself falling into a reading slump, I’ll pick up the fourth Earthsea book. If I feel like some historical fiction, I’ll probably go for The Boleyn King, that I bought recently. And as a non-fiction, I might read The Soul of a New Machine or a book I got to review about masculinities.

When I’ll update:

I tend to be a lot on twitter, so I’ll follow the #boutofbooks hashtag and interact with everyone there. I’ll also post my daily wrap-ups on twitter, might do a mid-week-blogpost, and will certainly do a week-wrap-up on sunday or monday a week from now. I’ll also create a Bout of Books-shelf on my Goodreads-account. This made things nice and clear for me in Dewey’s readathon, so I’ll do it again.

4 Comments

  1. Sounds like you have a great plan in place. (And I’ve had The Boleyn King on my TBR since I first heard of it, though I’m waiting until the trilogy is complete before I read them all.) Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

