Bout of Books – Day One: Scavenger Hunt Challenge

So The Book Monster hosts this Scavenger Hunt Challenge for Bout of Books. Usually I’m not the biggest fan of scavenger hunts, but since I can do this from the safety of my own library, I decided to join. Also, I can tell you some stuff about some of the awesome books I have!

1. A Book that begins with “B” (for Bout of Books!)

Bint
Bint, by F. Bordewijk. One of my favourite books of Dutch literature that I loved more for the style than the content. Some more information in English about the author and this story can be found here.

2. A book that has been made into a movie/tv show

Het Oneindige VerhaalColors in Het Oneindige Verhaal

I guess we have all seen The Neverending Story. This is my copy of the book (in Dutch). I must have read it at least a dozen times. I love how they did printed the book: with what happens in “our” world in red, and what happens “in the neverending story” in blue.

3. A series you love

Valentina Hellebel
This is a series I loved as an adolescent, about a young woman who is a witch, and who has to deal with demons and other kinds of evils. I loved it, even at that age, because of the Necronomicon-references (and now I love the Cthulu mythos), and the fact the books seemed to take me as a reader seriously. And the stories and characters are just awesome. I still miss one or two books from this series, that I hope to get from a friend of mine who is cleaning out her stack of books.

4. An anthology of poems or short stories

Kun je de dood ook groeten?
This is a book with 101 poems about goodbye, aimed at children/adolescents. The title would be something like “Can you greet death as well?” As you can see, I have some pieces of paper in there, to reach my favourites quickly. My mom gave it to me after my sister passed away, 11 years ago. I found some comfort in the words others wrote.

5. A book on your TBR shelf, or your full TBR shelves

TBRThe higher shelf and the right half of the lower shelf consist of my TBR of physical books. (the left half is dictionaries, which don’t lend themselves well for reading cover to cover).

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

