Bout of Books – Day Seven: 5 Book Challenge | Post-Apocalyptic Edition

The question Ashley from Taking Stept Into Another World asked us, what 5 books we woudl take along, if we had just 15 minutes to leave our houses. Given the short amount of time you are only able to take 5 books with you. What books would you pick to take with you as you escape and prepare for the end of the world.

Of course, with 15 minutes, I’d probably put my two chinchilla’s in a cage and leave with them (since they’re not that used to me yet, that will take quite some time), and not bring, books, but that was not the assignment… (it is an excuse to show a picture though!)

Gerrit (who ate a window in his house)

So, the books I would take along are as follows:

The complete works of William Shakespeare
and The Complete Stories of Sherlock Holmes: Who knows how long I’ll be in my hideout (I am assuming I will have one)? I have these two big books, with all those stories, and they’ll bring me comfort and distraction through trying times.

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: It’s one of my favourite books, so it will be good as a re-read. And rere-read. And rerere-read. And it can also teach us zen-principles, and make us take the things as they come with wonder and acceptance.

Mindfulness (by Edel Maes): For similar reasons as Zen and.. I’d take this book along. Just for some grounding, as the world around us falls apart. I’m all for mental health and flexibility.

A Narrative Compass: Stories that Guide Women’s Lives: After the world is destroyed, we need to build it up again. For that task, we need inspiration. This book will give me just that.

So: what would your 5 books be you’d face the apocalypse with?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

