[Review] The Square.

Ship

Title: The Square
Author: Choi In-Hun
Source: Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review
Tl;dr: Pretty words, even though they were translated from Korean.

Add it to your goodreads

Words are awesome. It’s been a while since I fell in love with words, but I did in the novel “The Square” by Choi In-Hun.

The books guarded his naked body and soul much like armor, or a second skin, would.

What’s there not to love about this sentence? I tend not to want to underline quotes in a book, but here I kept on wanting get my marker out (and I read on a kindle, so that would’ve been… problematic). the story: young man lives in South Korea, moves to North Korea, searching for what gives life meaning and what it all (including love) means. How do you live a fulfilling life? The concept of “the square” is what gives this book it’s title, and what keeps returning: what ” virtual/mental space/discourse” do you share with people? How does this change over time and place? this made for an interesting discussion with my girlfriend (she’s a philopher, but sadly does not like to read fiction).

I chose this book to review on Netgalley ages ago, because I wanted to step outside my comfort zone, and read something from a non-western writer. I found it remarkably easy to step into the protagists’ shoes, which migyt have come from my zen-buddhist learnings. I would really recommend this book who is interested to look outside it’s own country and usual choice of authors, if not for the story, then for:

Love is a word filled to the brim with futile mistakes, hopes and beliefs.

One Comment

  1. I’ve really enjoyed the books I’ve read by Japanese and Korean authors and since that’s a fairly small number of books, I’d definitely like to read more! Thanks for the helpful review :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

